Taipei Thing #8: Eat at 新卡莎 western-style vegetarian restaurant

25 May

Vegetarian lasagna! Good!

Kaifu suggested that I try out an interesting vegetarian place in Gongguan that he had been to before, so who better to help me find it? I had never heard of this place before, but surely had passed it without noticing. (Location here. #1 on the map)

There were surprisingly a lot of choices on the menu:

Choices, choices...

I was tempted to go for the basil steak, a house specialty, but the lasagna was calling my name. I was afraid I’d be disappointed, since Taiwan isn’t exactly the place to go for decent lasagna, but it turned out to be quite good (see header photo). The lasagna was stuffed with fresh vegetables, and not too oily. I’d get it again, if I weren’t interested in trying other things.

Here are a few more photos from our visit:

Kaifu's mushroom dish. Reportedly a little tough.

The dining room. Classy "western" style.

The storefront is nice, except for that ugly sign.

Overall, I liked the place. I’d like to go back a few times and try some other dishes, especially that basil steak. Another thing that made this task fun was the owner’s son, perhaps 4 years old, who was helping to set one of the tables. I was holding my breath as he handled the glassware, but he was ridiculously adorable shifting the silverware around, trying to make sure everything was in the right place. Keep an eye out for him if you go. 🙂

4 Responses to “Taipei Thing #8: Eat at 新卡莎 western-style vegetarian restaurant”

  1. Julie November 10, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Hey do you know if this restaurant’s still around? And what are the food prices like? I’ll be dropping by Taipei for a few days with my family, and I think they’ll like this place. 🙂

    • ktvxiaojie November 10, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

      Yes, I passed by there a few weeks ago, and they were still open. I can’t remember about pricing, but I don’t recall being outraged at the prices. For a meal set with everything, I believe $300-500NT? I could be wrong, but I doubt it’s cheaper or more expensive than that range. Hope this helps!

      • Julie November 11, 2011 at 12:32 am #

        Thank you so much! Hopefully the food’s gonna be good!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Taipei Thing #15: Eat 甜不辣 « 5 Days in Taipei - May 31, 2010

    […] and I had been eating all day already: vegetarian food at 新卡莎, a sharwarma from Mohammed, and red bean & mochi ice from Tai Yi Milk King, not to mention the […]

Leave a Reply

