Taipei Thing #5: Enjoy a meal at Nonzero

25 May

A delicious tomato-based chicken soup

I’ve somewhat recently had the pleasure of making the acquaintance of Ping Chu (朱平), the fascinating and fabulous man behind AVEDA Taiwan. When I asked the folks at this month’s Stage Time & Wine at the Red Room to contribute ideas, I got a great many (some of which will appear as future Things), and Ping’s contribution was an invitation to visit his organic restaurant, Nonzero. I had been hearing about Nonzero for a couple of years now, but had never found time to visit, so I was glad to add it to my list.

The adventure actually began with an item not on the list, a visit to Novel Hall for a performance by Akram Khan.

Novel Hall in Xinyi District

Of course, photos were not allowed during the performance, but I’d recommend searching for some clips of Akram Khan online, as the performance was astoundingly good. Even if you’re normally not a fan of dance, you’ll be captivated by Khan’s footwork, as well as the movement of his hands and the way he becomes part of the amazing music provided by his 5 onstage musicians. Highly recommended!

The slate of this month's 酷男 at Novel Hall

One other thing that made this trip great was that I was invited by Ping to see it among a group of several great people, and dinner after the show allowed us a chance to discuss the performance. And what a splendid dinner it was. Here are some of the things we enjoyed:

One of Nonzero's enormous & beautiful tables

A selection of breads, all delicious

Imported olive oils and vinegars for dipping

Brilliant pork salad with a light vinaigrette. We also had a fresh fig version!

Assorted grilled mushrooms. I could eat this every day.

A light pasta with tender pork.

Risotto with long-grain rice, something I've been missing in Taiwan

The dessert platter - light and fresh!

This was my first time to have a Chinese bayberry (also aptly called the "yumberry")

Another fruit I've never tasted before. Do you know what it's called?

By the time we emerged from the restaurant, some 5 hours later, I had already resolved to come back very soon and bring friends to experience the atmosphere and surprises from the kitchen. And if you happen to visit Nonzero yourself, be sure to say hello to Ping, who will probably already have stopped by your table to welcome you to his little gourmet paradise.

4 Responses to “Taipei Thing #5: Enjoy a meal at Nonzero”

  1. Julia May 31, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    That last fruit is called a gooseberry. Kinda tart right?

    • ktvxiaojie June 1, 2010 at 11:49 am #

      Yep. I just looked it up, and I think it’s more specifically a cape gooseberry (from the photos, anyway). I haven’t seen it on sale anywhere, but I’ll definitely try it again if I see any.

  2. Holly September 12, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    In Canada we call it a ground cherry.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Taipei Thing #13: Buy unfamiliar fruits « 5 Days in Taipei - May 31, 2010

    […] would have been a different story!). Actually, I encountered more unfamiliar fruits during my dinner at Nonzero than I did at the fruit stands. Strange. Still, I did manage to find one I didn’t know, the […]

Leave a Reply

