Taipei Thing #4: Shop at neighboring 7-Elevens

24 May

7-11 and 7-11

Lily Y.’s suggestion was to find two convenience stores (same brand) on the same block and make a purchase at each within 5 minutes.

It’s not surprising that the first incidence of this that I came across involved 7-11. For those who have never been to Taiwan, you may be surprised to learn that Taiwan has the highest concentration of 7-11 stores per capita in the world. In fact, there are, as of March 2010, 4,744 7-11 stores in Taiwan (see Wikipedia). That figure might not seem like much at first, but think of it this way: that’s like shoving nearly 5,000  7-11 stores into an area roughly the same size at my home state of Maryland, the 9th smallest state in the U.S. Also keep in mind that this figure doesn’t even take into account all the other convenience store brands in Taiwan, like Family Mart, Hi-Life, and Circle K.

Let’s get back to the adventure, though. It wasn’t but a block or so after I came across the half pigs that I realized I was about to pass by 2 7-11 stores within a block of each other on opposite sides of the street. Here’s how things turned out:

Proof of purchase!

I wonder if any of the handful of people milling about at the first 7-11 noticed me drive directly to the next one. In any case, I came home with a coffee and a milk tea, along with these two receipts timestamped as 00:05 and 00:08. Lily, if either of these receipts turn out to be a lottery winner, I’ll split the proceeds with you!

4 Responses to “Taipei Thing #4: Shop at neighboring 7-Elevens”

  1. Nicholas May 24, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    THEY PICK THE NUMBERS IN LIKE 2 DAYS!

    (I actually take great pleasure in looking through piles of receipts for this)

    • ktvxiaojie May 24, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

      Ah, but those will be for the March/April numbers! To be honest, I have started throwing my receipts away, finally admitting to myself that I’m never going to stop lazily tossing them on the counter, the coffee table, and everywhere else, leaving them there until I get sick of seeing them. I think I’ve won maybe 4 times in the past 5 years, so I doubt I’m willing to trade away my chance at fortune! (I will be keeping these two receipts, though – in fact, they’re already in a place of honor hanging on my door with other memories. 🙂 )

      • Nicholas May 25, 2010 at 7:57 am #

        I get yelled at for wasteful spending whenever I visit, so I always save them to see if I win anything (kind of a… ‘See? I won some of it back’ feeling). I think I win a few thousand a couple years back, so I have fond memories of the lottery system :).

  2. Anna May 25, 2010 at 3:21 am #

    I saved a batch until I realized I would never actually check if I won, and after that I always threw them in those receipts-for-charity glass boxes. That way, at least someone gets the prize.

Leave a Reply

